Services

Corporate and Commercial 

 Innovative, intelligent business solutions

Committed to partnering with our clients in long-term, productive relationships, our Corporate and Commercial Law team have a rich history providing effective strategies and innovative solutions for a wide range of enterprises throughout Christchurch, the wider Canterbury region, and around New Zealand. 

By taking the time to genuinely listen, we develop an in-depth understanding of each unique business we work alongside, tailoring solutions to suit its visions, aspirations and individual requirements. Our corporate and commercial clients range from small-to-medium businesses and start-up companies to large national and international entities, encompassing fields as diverse as finance, banking, retail, accommodation, land development, hospitality and manufacturing.

Our corporate and commercial law experts provide advice and advocacy on:

  • Business structuring and strategic planning
  • Construction disputes
  • Consumer legislation
  • Contract preparation and negotiation
  • Debt recovery
  • Dispute resolution
  • Due diligence
  • Business funding
  • Formation and establishment of companies and partnerships
  • Governance and compliance issues including advising boards on their responsibilities under various pieces of legislation
  • Insurance law
  • Mergers, acquisitions and amalgamations
  • Professional negligence litigation
  • Prospectuses and public offerings
  • Resource management
  • Securities and capital raising
  • Share issues
  • Joint ventures
  • Leases
  • Property development
  • Stakeholder issues 

To read an article written by Robin Standage on The need for a Shareholders' Agreement, click here.

Contact one of our specialists today 

Partners:

Alan Prescott - alan.prescott@harmans.co.nz
Seaton Read - seaton.read@harmans.co.nz
Mark Sherry - mark.sherry@harmans.co.nz
Chris Simpson - chris.simpson@harmans.co.nz
Jerome Toomey - jerome.toomey@harmans.co.nz

Consultant:

Kath Fox - kath.fox@harmans.co.nz

Senior Associates:

Nalini Meyer - nalini.meyer@harmans.co.nz 
Amy Hyland - amy.hyland@harmans.co.nz
Jessica Marshall - jessica.marshall@harmans.co.nz

 

       
© Copyright Harmans Lawyers 2017